Faculty of Law

Faculty of Law

Dean Image
Prof. Ashok Kumar
Dean, Faculty of Law

The Faculty of Law was established in 2003. The constitution, Power and Composition of the Faculty of Law is available in the Chaudhary Devi Lal University, Sirsa Act, 2003 (Haryana Act No. 9 of 2003) published in Haryana Govt. Gazette (Extraordinary), April, 2003. Faculty has separate independent building namely Dr. Ambedkar Bhawan (Teaching Block No. 3) with air-conditioned moot court, air-conditioned rich library along with digital library, air-conditioned legal aid clinic, air-conditioned seminar hall, common room for boys and girls separately,  smart class room and ramp facility for the handicapped students.The Faculty offers two bachelor programmes in the field of Law, one after graduation i.e. LL.B (Three year) Professional programme and another after (10+2) level i.e. B.A.LL.B (Five year) Integrated programme. These programmes incorporate fascinating subject with excellent career opportunities in the fields of law, corporate and consulting firms. Beside these programme, the faculty also offers LL.M (Two year) degree programme under CBCS and Ph.D  programme in the emerging areas of the law requiring innovative studies.

Right from its inception, the dynamic teachers of the Faculty are keeping themselves update to work out programmes in order to develop new course curricula for meeting the ever changing demands of the legal profession, so that the students are prepared for high professional standards. We believe that every student has the requisite potential and our aim is to see that this potential is fully realized and fulfilled. Such a committed, learner-centered approach to education means that we have a happy and purposeful community that strives for excellence in all academic activities. With this view in mind, the imparting of practical training to the students in the local courts and organizing of Legal Aid Camps in the rural areas has been incorporated in the syllabi. Faculty also stresses on moot court competitions, quiz competition, extension lectures, seminars and study tours etc. Apart from this, teachers of the Faculty are continuously engage themselves for promoting their personal growth by publishing research papers in the journals of repute and also attending seminars and conference organized from time to time by the different institutions of high repute. We look forward to enhance the legal education in the remote area of Sirsa and its neighboring region on pattern of National law Universities and other reputed Universities.                                                             


This Faculty currently has the following Departments:

Department of Law
Dr. J.S. Jakhar 
Dean, Faculty of Law 
Dr. Ashok Kumar 
Chairperson, Department of Law 
Dr. Mukesh Kumar 
Professor, Department of Law 
Mrs. Munni Devi 
Deputy Registrar, Academic 
Mr. Hori Lal 
Assistant Registrar, Academic