# DEPARTMENT OF JOURNALISM & MASS COMMUNICATION CHAUDHARYDEVILALUNIVERSITY, SIRSA

(APPROVED UNDER SECTION 2 (F) AND 12 (B) OF THE UGC ACT, 1956) NAAC ACCREDITED WITH GRADE 'B'



# About the Department

The Department of Journalism and Mass Communication has been functional in Ch. Devi Lal University Sirsa since its inception in 2003for creating opportunities for students to develop critical thinking, communication and soft skills and future teachers in schools, colleges and universities. The establishment of the department was a remarkable achievement for Sirsa as none of the educational institutions of the area was offering or academic degree in the field of Journalism & Mass Communication until then. The department offers M.A. B.A. and Ph.D. in JMC. The department has its own Multimedia Lab. Currently the department is surging ahead in the field of academics. The alumni of the department are placed in various educational institutions and media industry. The department is committed to bringing a change in the outlook of the society by cultivating a new breed of journalists empowered with a vision to tread earnestly, work smartly and look distinctly in the work area. The department of JMC, CDLU is the only department in Haryana that runs its own Community Radio Station. The major strength of the department is the research and teaching competence of the members of the faculty. All the faculty members are actively involved in research and the dissemination of knowledge by way of publishing books and papers in reputed journals.

## VISION: The Department has the following vision in mind:-

- To envision the Department as a Centre for academic excellence by encouraging innovative teaching learning practices and promoting quality research and professional expertise.
- To be distinguished in the field of Media Studies. The department focuses on the dynamic arena of digitalized world of communication and aims at generating a produce of smart and sapient, earnest and methodical media aspirants.
- To propose a balanced, assertive and self-assured modus operando to the students while teaching media management, media ethics, media production and media research. Along

with, it intends to inculcate a value-based and pragmatic approach into the regular teaching practice and make learning altogether a practically yielding experience.

- Making the best possible use of new media and technology resources, the department aims at developing a plexus of wisdom from across the world and nurturing the students with the consistent academic colloquium series hence extending a constructive contribution to the pool of knowledge.
- To train and groom the students in such a way that they think creatively and imaginatively and work innovatively to make India a global superpower.
- To keep the students motivated through teaching learning practices for developing and maximizing our country's rich talents and resources for the good of individual, society, the country and the world.
- To train a journalist of global standard, with a high intention of social responsibilities, ethics, social equality, to make concretize fourth pillar of democracy.
- To promote free and balanced flow of news, opinion and entertainment across the communication networks to build a more discerning and democratized society.

## Mission: The primary mission of the Department is as follow:

- To develop journalism and Communication Professionals who would take leading roles in presenting news and communication materials in transparent, objective, meaningful and ethical manner in the service of the community.
- To aspire to be the centre of excellence in the field of Journalism and Communication education by focusing on what is relevant and important in changing the landscape of rapidly developing digital technology and new media of communication.
- To train students in communication skills and soft skills.
- To prepare students for employability by honing their professional competencies.
- Tostrengthen a global worldview through a well-structured curriculum and university/community partnership.
- To promote increased interface between technology and media studies.

### **Faculty:**

Dr. Amit Sangwan(Chairperson) Associate Professor Dr. Sewa Singh Bajwa Professor Dr. Virender Chauhan Associate Professor (On Deputation) Dr. Ravinder Associate Professor

#### Academic Programmes: MA JMC, BA JMC and Ph.D.

**Research Thrust Area:** New Media, Electronic Media, Print Media, Advertising and Public Relations, and Traditional Folk Media

Facilities: -Smart Class Room, Reading Room, Media Lab and Community Radio Station.

### Placement:-

Those graduating from the department get absorbed at various high positions in different field of Media Industry. The alumni of the department are holding position of Assistant Professor in various colleges and universities. Further the alumni are well place as corporate officers, public relations officers, Editing department, Photo Journalists, Reporters and Video Editors in Institutions and Media Organization of high repute.

#### Seminar/Symposia:

The Department holds seminar/workshops/conferences for uplifting the educational and professional and skills of the students from time to time.

#### **Board of Studies:-**

#### The present member of UGBOS is as under: -

	Dr. Amit Sangwan, Chairperson, Deptt. of JMC Dr. Anil Kumar, Assistant Professor Shah Satnam Ji Boy's College, Sirsa	Chairman/ Member Member
3.	Prof. Harish Arya,	Outside Expert
	Head of the Deptt. of JMC, Maharishi Dayanand Unive	-
4.	Prof. Govind Singh, IIMC, New Delhi	Outside Expert
5.	Sh. DipenderDeswal, Senior Correspondent, Hisar	Special Invitee (One person
	from Industry)	
The present member of PGBOS &R is as under: -		
1.	Dr. Amit Sanwan, Chairperson, Deptt. of JMC	Chairman/Member
2.	Prof. Sewa Singh Bajwa, Deptt. of JMC	Member
3.	Dr. Ravinder, Assoc. Prof., Deptt. of JMC	Member
4.	Prof. Manoj Dayal,	Outside Expert
	Deptt. of CM&T, GJUS&T, Hisar	-
5.	Prof. Bindu Sharma,	Outside Expert
	Director, IMC&MT, K.U. Kurukshetra	1
6.		One person from Industry
The present member of DRAC is as under: -		
1.	Dr. Amit Sangwan, Chairperson, Deptt. of JMC	Chairman/ Member
	Prof. Sewa Singh Bajwa, Deptt. of JMC	Member
<u> </u>	Dr. Ravinder, Deptt. of JMC	Member
4.	Prof. Bindu Sharma,	Outside Expert
	Director, Deptt. of IMCMT K.U. Kurukshetra	